Please download the Flash Player
Guestbook  Help  Contact  Disclaimer
Curl pedigree database  Kurilian Bobtail pedigree database
HomeMy catsMy catteryBreeds
 
 About Us

 Photo gallery

 Litters

 Judging

   What is important
   for me


   My experiences

 Interesting Links

 F.A.Q.

 Cat names

 Help

 E-mail

Cat of the day
 
  Search for:
 
 

 

JUDGING ...
 
 
My license

The training becoming an allround judge is a long and sometimes stony way, it took me almost 8 years. First one must be a steward for 2 years, where you are busy and running the whole day, taking cats out of their cage and presenting them to the judge - and every judge wants to have it in a different way. But you may learn a lot and will carry many beautiful cats on your arms. Sometimes the job is rather dangerous, some cats are quite nervous, but their owner is even more nervous. And if the cat does not win all the prizes, often it is assumed that it was the fault of the steward.
Afterwards you must be a student judge in each category for 2 years, and in FIFe there are 4 categories. In each category one must sit for a written and a practical examination, must do parallel judging twice and must make 3 stages after each examination.
And all this has to be paid by yourself, which might get quite expensive in the semi-longhairs and shorthairs, because some breeds exist only in specific countries. Besides all this you must also have good knowledge in genetics, because a judge often must make a decision upon colour and must be able to understand the pedigrees very well.

Not all organizing clubs do accept student judges. One has to write many letters before being accepted as a student. And one does not get always a full student certificate. In particular it might become difficult in Persians and Siamese, because there are not always many cats present in the shows. Does this have a certain reason?

I worked in the judges commission for many years, and the standards, as we have them now, had been made by me.
Unfortunately this job gets too political very often, which I never liked, because the cats are pushed aside. Often we had to deal with complaints from exhibitors against judges, who did not want to accept a judge's decision. But we also had complaints from judges against judges, as if it would not be a hobby. The word "hobby" is quite often worn out and misused, despite our wonderful hobby should be a source of pleasure and our cats should always be in the spotlight.
The motives, why this or that colour or breed is accepted for championship, are not always based upon our cats. It was always important for me to get new colours and breeds recognized because of the respect for the breeders, who spent a lot of work and time, and to honour all their efforts. If nature is able to produce this variety of colours and breeds, one has to take off his hat with deep respect.
I was very lucky also to make student judge with well known American judges. And I have learned something wonderful with them, that all cats are an artwork of nature, which one has to meet with great respect.

 

 
 


News
I hope, you will find many interesting subjects.


Looking forward to your

Email

      home · my cats · macCurl · breeds
guestbook · Curl pedigree database · help · contact · disclaimer
 
   


 
    2005-2008 MacCurl by Eveline Preiss

Please download the Flash Player
Gästebuch  Hilfe  Kontakt  Disclaimer
Curl Stammbaum-Datenbank  Kurilian Bobtail Stammbaum-Datenbank
HomeMeine KatzenMeine CatteryRassen
 
 Über uns

 Fotogallerie

 Würfe

 Richten

   Was mir wichtig ist

   Meine Erfahrungen

 Interessante Links

 F.A.Q.

 Katzennamen

 Hilfe

 E-mail

Katze des Tages
 
  Suchen nach:
 
 

 

RICHTEN ...
 
 
Meine Ausbildung

Die Ausbildung zum Allround-Richter ist ein langer, manchmal recht steiniger Weg und hat insgesamt fast 8 Jahre gedauert. Zuerst muss man mindestens 2 Jahre Steward machen, wo man den ganzen Tag auf den Beinen ist, Katzen raus aus dem Käfig und  dem Richter präsentieren - und hier mag es jeder anders haben. Aber man kann sehr viel dabei lernen und hält viele schöne Katzen am Arm. Der Job ist manchmal nicht ungefährlich, manche Katzen sind sehr nervös, doch noch nervöser ist der Aussteller selbst. Und wenn die Katze dann nicht Alles gewinnt, ist auch oft der Steward schuld daran.
Danach muss man für jede Kategorie 2 Jahre Schüler machen, und bei der FIFe gibt es 4 Kategorien. Für jede Kategorie muss man eine schriftliche und praktische Prüfung machen, zweimal paralell richten und nach jeder Prüfung 3 Stagen machen.
Dies Alles auf eigene Kosten, was besonders bei Halblanghaar und Kurzhaar recht teuer werden kann, weil es manche Rassen nur in manchen Ländern in ausreichender Anzahl gibt. Daneben gilt es noch, sich auch in Genetik weiter zu bilden, denn oft muss man als Richter Farbbestimmungen durchführen, und sollte also die Stammbäume gut lesen können.

Man wird auch nicht von allen Organisatoren sofort als Schüler angenommen. Oft schreibt man viele Briefe umsonst, bis man angenommen wird. Und nicht immer erhält man ein volles Schülerzeugnis. Besonders bei Persern und Siam ist es oft schwierig, denn diese Rassen sind nicht immer sehr zahlreich auf Ausstellungen vertreten. Ob dies nicht seinen guten Grund hat?

Ich habe viele Jahre in der Richterkommission gearbeitet. Die Standards, wie wir sie heute haben, wurden von mir gemacht.
Leider hatte dieser Job allzu oft mit Politik zu tun, was nie mein Fall war. Denn dann bleiben die Katzen leider auf der Strecke. Des öfteren gab es Beschwerden von Ausstellern über Richter, die nicht immer eine Entscheidung eines Richters akzeptieren wollten. Auch gab es Beschwerden von Kollegen über Kollegen, so als ginge es um viel. Das Wort "Hobby" wird oft überstrapaziert, dabei soll doch unser schönes Hobby Spass machen und die Katzen sollten im Vordergrund stehen.
Die Motive, weshalb diese oder jene Farbe oder Rasse anerkannt wird, sind nicht immer nur in den Katzen begründet. Für mich war es immer wichtig, möglichst alle Rassen und Farben anzuerkennen, um so die viele Arbeit, Zeit und Mühe der Züchter zu respektieren und zu honorieren. Wenn die Natur diese Vielfalt an Farben und Varietäten zuläßt, muss man mit Respekt seinen Hut davor ziehen.
Ich hatte das Glück, auch bei sehr renommierten amerikanischen Richtern Schüler zu machen. Und dabei habe ich Etwas Wunderbares gelernt, dass alle Katzen ein Kunstwerk der Natur sind, dem man mit großem Respekt begegnen sollte.

 

 
 


News
Ich hoffe, Sie finden hier viel Interessantes.


Ich freue mich auf Ihre

Email

      home · meine katzen · macCurl · rassen
gästebuch · Curl stammbaum-datenbank · hilfe · kontakt · disclaimer
 
   


 
    © 2005-2008 MacCurl von Eveline Preiss